Mark Sutton

I have been the coordinator for Republic in Yorkshire for nearly all of our 5 year history.

Although originally from Garforth, I spent most of my adult life in Wakefield (to which I consider myself a son of, and still avidly follow Wakefield Trinity RLFC), before relocating to Newark on Trent in 2007 to be with my now wife, Elle.

I work in the Accounts section for a large Electrical company, and away from Republic and Rugby League have a lifelong obsession with music (having something of a photographic memory for a tune).


Graham Sproule

Graham Sproule is a member of the British Monarchist Society and serves it as a Media Secretary and Ambassador for Commonwealth and International Relations. Among the numerous public campaigns he has been involved in, he led the National Capital Region’s local ‘No MMP’ campaign which helped defeat a ballot initiative to change the Province of Ontario’s electoral system to one of proportional representation. Sproule joined the Ottawa Branch of the Monarchist League of Canada in high school, and has been active in supporting monarchist activities since that time.


Harrogate Debate is a non-profit organisation, all money goes towards further debates. Everyone is welcome to attend the event.

You vote twice during the event, once when you enter and, then, after the speakers have given you more information, you vote again. The votes are counted before and after to see how many people change their minds.

Previous events include “EU: In or Out”, “This House believes the time has come to legalise assisted dying” and “Is Religion a Force for Good in the World”.